Thursday, 5 July 2012

Aquarius 1.

The astrological sign of Aquarius is so called because of the number of stars in the constellation which relate to water.

The constellation of Aquarius is also in the region of the sky known as The Sea.  This region includes the constellations of Capricornus (the Sea-Goat), Aquarius (the Water Carrier), and Pisces (the Fish).  Plus : Cetus (the Whale), Delphinus (the Dolphin), Eruadenus (the Great River), Hydra (the Sea Snake), Argo (the Ship), and Crater (the Cup).

This is the upper waters of the sky through which the sun moved during the rainy season.

The Babylonians related it to the 11th month and the Deluge (the 11th book).  Aquarius is the 11th sign of the zodiac.

Aquarius is also said to relate to the myth of Ganymede - a noted homosexual myth - in which the beautiful youth is kidnapped by Zeus in the form of an eagle and taken to Olympus to be his lover and the cup bearer of the gods.

Photo Credit: c_nilsen Flickr via Compfight cc

No comments:

Post a Comment